The notion of publishing is central to Form Builder/Form Runner.
- As a form author, you first work on a form definition in a special space where the form can be modified, saved, and tested.
- Once the form definition is ready, you publish it to Form Runner.
- After that moment:
- the form becomes available by form users for data entry
- Form Builder is no longer part of the equation
When you start publishing a form with the Publish button at the bottom of Form Builder, a dialog opens to confirm the application name form name:
[SINCE Orbeon Forms 2017.2] You can decide whether the published form is available to end users. You can later change the availability of the published form either in Form Builder by re-publishing it, or from the Form Runner runner home page.
If you decide to go ahead with publishing, simply use the Publish button.
New version or override
When versioning is enabled, you have a choice, when publishing, of whether to create a new form version or to override an existing one.
[SINCE Orbeon Forms 2016.1]
You can overwrite not only the latest published version, but any previous version.
[SINCE Orbeon Forms 2016.2]
You can add or update a textual comment associated with the given published version. Adding a comment is not required, but setting a comment can help the form author understand what changes a given form version includes.
When creating a new version, the field is initially empty:
You can set an explanatory comment:
When overriding an existing form version, the existing comment, if any, is read back from the published form definition and you can update it before publishing:
- Form versioning blog post
- Choosing the best versioning option when publishing a form blog post
- Versioning comments blog post